Treis (2000) by Christophe Bertrand
for violin, cello, and piano
2002 Earplay Donald Aird Composers Competition winner

Each of the four movements of Treis (lasting from a minute and a half to three minutes and a half each) develops a reduced number of precise compositional aspects, quite simple and easily identifiable, related to common and derived harmonic fields, always clearly recognizable, that assure the unity of the whole.

— C. B.    

[from program for December 9, 2002 concert]