Clarinet Quartet (1993) by Krzysztof Penderecki
for clarinet, violin, viola, and cello

I. Notturno: Adagio
II. Scherzo: Vivacissimo
III. Serenade: Tempo di Valse
IV. Abschied: Larghetto

Penderecki counts Quartet for Clarinet and Piano Trio (1993), inspired by Schubert's late and otherworldly String Quartet (1828), among his most significant works. Here Penderecki has chosen the most inward, subtle, and flexible of the wind instruments, the one to which Mozart, Brahms, and Reger also entrusted their most personal utterances.

— Fenwick Smith    

[from program for March 12, 2007 concert]