Elusive Thoughts (2016) by Tomasz Skweres
for violin, viola, and cello
2021 Earplay Donald Aird Composers Competition winner

The String Trio Elusive Thoughts consists of six very short movements — each movement representing a quintessential, a very compressed constituent of one complex idea. The imaginary stress fields created by acoustic signals refer to thinking structures permanently involved in human emotions. Both present feelings and past emotions — being constantly recalled — influence our mind and constitute integral elements of one and the same development process.

— T. S.    

[from program for March 21, 2022 concert]