ADGC (2010) by Jean Ahn
for viola and cello
US premiere

The idea of this piece is the four open strings and those pitches. The piece has four sections, each featuring the open string notes: A section, D section, G section, and the last section centering C string in a more abstract way. In the last section, the cello takes the role of playing the melody for the first time, paraphrasing My God is Solid Rock by Martin Luther.

Also, A-D-G-C is one of the most common cadential bass line in tonal music, and it is revealed toward the end of the piece.

— J. A.    

[from program for March 31, 2014 concert]