Yaqira (2011) by Jonathan Berger
for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano
World premiere; Earplay commission

Yaqira, for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano, is in four movements, each elaborating a seven note phrase from an Aramaic supplication ending on the word 'Yaqira' (which means 'precious'). The piece was inspired by an idea my daughter had of musically representing the disorienting sense of kinetosis.

I. Freely, inquisitive
II. Serene
III. Con forza
IV. Filigree

Yaqira was written jointly for premieres by the San Francisco based ensemble Earplay and for the PluralEnsemble, based in Madrid.

— J. B.    

[from program for February 7, 2011 concert]