Jelek (1961/1994) by György Kurtag
for viola

1. Agitato
2. Giusto
3. Lento
4. Vivo, feroce
5. Quasi senza tempo
6. Con slancio, risoluto

György Kurtag composed Jelek ("signs"), six short movements for solo viola, in 1961 as his Op. 5. Kurtag subsequently withdrew Jelek, but eventually re-issued a revised version in 1994. Jelek clearly shows the influence of Webern's aphoristic style — Kurtag’s compositions are almost always very short and terse, preoccupied with a single gesture, and yet deeply expressive.

— G. K.    

[from program for March 17, 2003 concert]